the art of sleep
OUR TOPICS AT A GLANCE


Here we take a closer look at sleep and explore what it takes to get a good night's sleep.  





 



ARE YOU WELL RESTED?



It's true what they say, a good night's sleep is worth its weight in gold! Nothing is quite so important to our health, quality of life, and wellbeing.


Discover HANRO's high-quality pyjamas and nightdresses, which are made from first-class feel-good materials, meet sustainable quality standards, have a purist style and a great love of detail, all of which contribute to a sophisticated sleep culture.


For almost 140 years, HANRO has been a champion of understated luxury. "Less is more, and only the best" – this maxim is our passion.




Nothing beats a night of deep and peaceful sleep. But let's face it, we don't always get the rest we need or deserve. In the summer, the heat makes us toss and turn for hours, while in the winter, we often shiver in bed despite our thick blankets. The solution? Nightwear made of natural materials that perfectly adapt to your own individual sleep needs and circumstances.

TAKE THE QUIZ

 

 

'Natural Comfort' Pajama


„My evening rituals include a thorough facial cleansing, a nourishing face mask, soft and comfortable nightwear, and a movie with my kids before they go to bed. Later, I listen to soothing music and read a few pages from a good book to relax and get in the right mindset. Even when I'm exhausted, I try to stick to this routine.“
VIKY RADER

Influencer, style icon, mother of three, and self-professed HANRO fan. In our Home Story,
Viky not only divulges her secrets for a restful night of sleep, but also reveals her favorite looks designed with HANRO nightwear.



From left to right: 'Grand Central' Spaghetti Top and Trousers, 'Lovis' Spaghetti Dress and Robe‚ 'Loungy Nights' Pajama

 



WE ALL HAVE A
CHRONIC SLEEP DEFICIT



"The closer something is to your body, the more it affects your sleep. Your underwear is your second skin, your nightwear is your third skin, and your bed is your fourth skin. Ideally, these layers will interact with each other."



INTERVIEW WITH PROF. GÜNTER W. AMANN-JENNSON
Sleep psychologist and Samina company founder


READ THE INTERVIEW




HIGH QUALITY NIGHTWEAR STYLES



SHOP WOMEN’S NIGHTWEAR



 

SHOP MEN’S NIGHTWEAR


 

SLEEP CULTURE BY HANRO
A RETROSPECTIVE

HANRO has been celebrating the culture of sleep since 1927 - long before it became fashionable to get a perfect night of sleep. Our legendary archive in Liestal (Basel, Switzerland) features one-of-a-kind nightwear that caused a sensation back then and is still cult to this day.


HANRO Sleep Campaign 1 EN

1930

 The first HANRO nightwear collection: Liseuses, or so-called bed jackets done in specially knit fabrics, and floor-length nightdresses. Nevertheless, the super modern woman of the 30s opted for the collection's extravagant pajamas.
HANRO Sleep Campaign 1 EN

1930

 The first HANRO nightwear collection: Liseuses, or so-called bed jackets done in specially knit fabrics, and floor-length nightdresses. Nevertheless, the super modern woman of the 30s opted for the collection's extravagant pajamas.
HANRO Sleep Campaign 2 EN

1950

 This pajama look is reminiscent of the movie "Breakfast at Tiffany's" starring style icon Audrey Hepburn.
HANRO Sleep Campaign 3 EN

1960

 Sleep culture rebellion: Miniskirts and short nightdresses revealing bare legs fueled the women's liberation movement.
HANRO Sleep Campaign 4 EN

1980

 Top model icon Linda Evangelista was the face of the 1985 nightwear collection campaign.
HANRO Sleep Campaign 5 EN

1990

 Stylish nightwear became respectable. The 90s marked the birth of loungewear, which is so popular today.
*Photos: Hanro Collection, Archaeology and Museum Baselland, Liestal ©HANRO International GmbH, Götzis.







What does sleep actually mean in terms of our existence as humans? Artists, writers, and philosophers have approached the complex sensory phenomenon in countless different ways, cultivating sleep into a cultural treasure.



The Sleeping Gypsy, Henri Julien Félix Rousseau, 1897: At the time of its unveiling, this painting was misunderstood and rejected by the public. Its integrated symbols are disturbing and play directly on our subconscious. Today, "The Sleeping Gypsy" belongs to the collection of the New York Museum of Modern Art.

"I have an idea... I want to simply paint my room, but this time the color must do everything, and by simplifying it provide it with more style, with an overall effect of sleep and rest. In other words, the painting should calm the nerves and the imagination."


VINCENT VAN GOGH

READ THE SPECIAL STORY

 

 

"This early rising makes one quite stupid. Man must have his sleep..."

FRANZ KAFKA

 

 


 



NIGHTWEAR FOR EVERY TYPE

 

Flannel is one of the oldest and most effective materials for cold temperatures. Pretreated, flannel does not lie directly on the skin. The material therefore always stays at a comfortable temperature. Cotton nightwear with a brushed interior also provides for outstanding sleeping comfort.

SHOP NOW

Do you sweat while sleeping? If so, then opt for nightwear that quickly absorbs moisture. TENCELTM Lyocell fibres are known for keeping skin cool and dry. Less is more - if you're usually on the warm side, then lightweight, quick-drying cotton is for you. After all, cotton is highly absorbent.

SHOP NOW

You‘re traditional and love to sleep in pure, basic cotton? This natural material is perfect yearround and feels wonderful on the skin. An expert in natural fibres, HANRO only uses high-quality cotton fibres, resulting in nightwear that is more durable, long-lasting, and sustainable.

SHOP NOW

You're a fan of sustainable luxury and have to have exclusive materials, even while sleeping?You can't go wrong with our nightwear made of modal, viscose, and silk. The modal-silk blend is also very special because it’s wonderfully lightweight, flexible, and breathable - and most importantly, sustainable.

SHOP NOW


 

10 SLEEPING TIPS

 

Scientists in the USA discovered that people who got under the covers with socks on their feet fell asleep around 15 minutes faster than those who were barefoot. Socks create heat by improving the flow of blood in your feet. This causes your body temperature to drop, which in turn provides your brain with the impulse to induce sleep.

First of all, regularity and good timing are essential to proper sleep. And since our bodies - like any living thing - follow cycles and rhythms, you're better off giving in to this instinct and establishing a consistent time for going to bed and getting up in the morning.

Sleeping on your back ("supine" position) is excellent for your orthopedic health. Sleeping on your side helps your brain to detox. Sleeping on your stomach is not recommended as this position can be hard on your lower back.


YOUR GIFT



We will give you an exclusive stone pine pillow* worth € 29, filled with fragrant stone pine flakes, with every purchase of € 150 or more from our nightwear collection.


The pleasant scent of the wood, whose chips are processed into pillow fillings, has been proven to promote sleep.


Please add the pillow to the shopping cart. The price will be deducted at check-out.


*Only while stocks last, once per customer and order.


GET YOUR GIFT NOW

An absolute taboo is a "digitalized bedroom," especially in today's world where we tend to use our laptops and smartphones until our eyes close. The radiation and blue light from digital devices have been shown to interfere with the process of falling (and staying) asleep.


According to experts, your bedroom should therefore be as minimalist as possible: a comfortable bed with a breathable mattress, a small table, a lamp, absolute darkness, a temperature of 16 to 18 °C, and the perfect nightwear are the ingredients for the kind of sleep we all crave but rarely get.


A short meditation accompanied by deep and steady breathing through the nose can quiet the senses and help you let go.




To allow your digestive organs to detoxify overnight, try to refrain from consuming fatty foods, caffeine, or alcohol for up to three hours before going to sleep. Instead, nibble on a few nuts.

Exercise improves sleep: Outdoor activities are ideal, for the more sunlight the body absorbs, the faster the natural sleep aid melatonin is released in the evening.


The right nightwear is vital to your overall sleeping comfort. High-quality, natural materials are pleasant on the skin and breathable to prevent sweating and freezing.


FINEST NIGHTWEAR





MAGAZINE ON THE SUBJECT OF SLEEP



In our magazine, we take a closer look at sleep and explore what it takes to get a good night's sleep.


The magazine is available in our shops.


OPEN SHOP FINDER

Enjoy browsing through our flip page magazine!

the art of sleep
UNSERE THEMEN IM ÜBERBLICK


Wir widmen uns hier dem Schlaf etwas ausführlicher und ergründen, was es für eine gute Nachtruhe braucht. 





 



SIND SIE AUSGESCHLAFEN?



Eine erholsame Nachtruhe ist Gold wert. Guter Schlaf ist elementar wichtig für Gesundheit, Wohlbefinden und letztlich unsere Lebensqualität.


Entdecken Sie die hochwertigen HANRO Pyjamas und Nachthemden, welche mit erstklassigen Wohlfühl-Materialien, einem nachhaltigen Qualitätsanspruch und einem puristischen Stil sowie viel Liebe zum Detail auf eine anspruchsvolle Schlafkultur einzahlen.


Seit fast 140 Jahren zelebriert HANRO "Understated Luxury": Weniger ist mehr und von allem das Beste – diese Maxime ist unsere Leidenschaft.




Was gibt es Erholsameres als eine Nacht, in der man tief und friedlich geschlafen hat? Aber nicht immer startet man perfekt ausgeruht in den Tag. Im Sommer wälzt man sich aufgrund der Hitze oft stundenlang ruhelos im Bett und im Winter bibbert man mitunter trotz dicker Decke vor sich hin. Abhilfe schafft die richtige Nachtwäsche aus natürlichen Materialien, die sich den individuellen Schlafbedürfnissen und -umständen optimal anpasst.

ZUM QUIZ

 

 

'Natural Comfort' Pyjama


„Zu meinen Abendritualen gehören neben einer ausgiebigen Gesichtsreinigung auch eine pflegende Gesichtsmaske, bequeme und angenehme Nachtwäsche und ein Film mit meinen Kids, bevor diese ins Bett gehen. Später höre ich beruhigende Musik lese ich noch ein paar Seiten in einem guten Buch, das mein "Life Mindset" beeinflusst und mich auch etwas "runterbringt". Selbst wenn ich besonders müde bin, versuche ich mich an diese Routine zu halten.“
VIKY RADER

Influencerin, Stil-Ikone, Dreifach-Mutter und bekennender HANRO Fan. In unserer Home Story verrät Ihnen Viky
nicht nur ihre ‚best secrets‘ rund um einen erholsamen Schlaf, sondern zeigt außerdem, wie sie ihre persönlichen HANRO Nachtwäsche-Favoriten am liebsten stylt.



Von links nach rechts: 'Grand Central' Spaghetti Top und Hose, 'Lovis' Spaghetti Dress und Robe‚ 'Loungy Nights' Pyjama

 



WIR HABEN ALLE
EIN CHRONISCHES SCHLAFDEFIZIT



"Je näher etwas am Körper ist, desto größer ist der Einfluss auf den Schlaf. Die Unterwäsche ist die zweite Haut, die Nachtwäsche ist die dritte Haut und das Bett ist die vierte Haut des Menschen. Diese Schichten müssen natürlich miteinander interagieren."



INTERVIEW MIT PROF. GÜNTER W. AMANN-JENNSON
Schlafpsychologe und Samina Firmengründer


ZUM INTERVIEW




QUALITATIV HOCHWERTIGE NACHTWÄSCHE STYLES



NACHTWÄSCHE FÜR DAMEN
SHOPPEN




 

NACHTWÄSCHE FÜR HERREN
SHOPPEN



 

SLEEP CULTURE BY HANRO
EINE RETROSPEKTIVE

HANRO zelebriert Schlafkultur seit 1927 - lange bevor die perfekte Nachtruhe zum Trendthema auserkoren wurde. Ein Blick in unser legendäres Archiv in Liestal (Basel) zeigt einzigartige Nachtwäsche-Highlights, die schon damals für Furore sorgten und bis heute Kult sind.


HANRO Sleep Campaign 1

1930

 Die erste Nachwäsche-Kollektion von HANRO: Liseuses, sogenannte Bettjäckchen aus Raschelstoffen und bodenlange Nachthemden. Die supermoderne Frau der 30er Jahre entschied sich jedoch für die extravaganten Pyjamas der Kollektion.
HANRO Sleep Campaign 1

1930

 Die erste Nachwäsche-Kollektion von HANRO: Liseuses, sogenannte Bettjäckchen aus Raschelstoffen und bodenlange Nachthemden. Die supermoderne Frau der 30er Jahre entschied sich jedoch für die extravaganten Pyjamas der Kollektion.
HANRO Sleep Campaign 2

1950

 Dieser Pyjama-Look erinnert an den Film „Breakfast at Tiffany‘s“ mit Stil-Ikone Audrey Hepburn.


HANRO Sleep Campaign 3

1960

 Schlaf-Kultur-Rebellion: Mini-Röcke und natürlich kurze Nachthemden mit Blick auf nackte Beine befeuerten die Emanzipation der Frau.


HANRO Sleep Campaign 4

1980

 Topmodel-Ikone Linda Evangelista war 1985 das Kampagnengesicht der Nachtwäsche-Kollektion.


HANRO Sleep Campaign 5

1990

 Nachtwäsche mit Stil wird salonfähig. Die 90er Jahre markieren die Geburtsstunde der heute so beliebten Loungewear.


*Fotos: Hanro-Sammlung, Archäologie und Museum Baselland, Liestal ©HANRO International GmbH, Götzis.







Was eigentlich bedeutet der Schlaf für unsere menschliche Existenz? Auf mannigfache Weise nähern sich Künstler, Schriftsteller oder Philosophen dem komplexen und sensiblen Phänomen an und erheben den Schlaf zu einem kulturellen Gut.



Henri Julien Félix Rousseau, 1897, Schlafende Zigeunerin: In der Zeit seiner Entstehung wurde dieses Gemälde vom Publikum nicht verstanden und zurückgewiesen. Seine beunruhigende Wirkung entsteht durch die integrierten Symbole, welche unser Unterbewusstsein direkt beeinflussen. Heute gehört die ‚Schlafende Zigeunerin‘ zur Sammlung des New Yorker Museums of Modern Art.

„Ich habe eine neue Idee... diesmal will ich ganz einfach mein Zimmer malen, aber hier muss die Farbe alles tun und durch die Vereinfachung dem Ganzen mehr Stil geben; es soll eine Wirkung von Ruhe und Schlaf davon ausgehen. Mit anderen Worten: Der Anblick des Bildes soll die Phantasie und die Nerven beruhigen.“ 

VINCENT VAN GOGH

 

ZUR SPECIAL STORY

 

 

„Dies frühzeitige Aufstehen macht einen ganz blödsinnig. Der Mensch muss seinen Schlaf haben.“

FRANZ KAFKA

 

 


 



NACHTWÄSCHE FÜR JEDEN TYP

 

Besonders innovativ ist die Nachtwäsche aus einer Wolle-TENCELTM Lyocell-Mischung. Die smarte Materialzusammensetzung ist wärmend und atmungsaktiv zugleich. Flanell wiederum ist eines der ältesten und bewährtesten Materialien für kalte Temperaturen. Durch vorheriges Anrauen liegt der Stoff nicht direkt auf der Haut auf.

JETZT SHOPPEN

Sie neigen während des Schlafens zum Schwitzen? Dann empfehlen wir Ihnen Nachtwäsche, welche Feuchtigkeit schnell aufnimmt. Vor allem TENCELTM Lyocellfasern sind bekannt für einen natürlichen Temperaturausgleich. Sie können auch zu leichter, schnell trocknender Baumwolle greifen. Denn Baumwolle ist stark saugfähig.

JETZT SHOPPEN

Sie pflegen die Tradition und schlafen am liebsten ganz natürlich in Baumwolle? Das Naturmaterial eignet sich perfekt als Ganzjahresnachtwäsche und fühlt sich angenehm auf der Haut an. Als Experte für natürliche Fasern verarbeitet HANRO ausschließlich hochwertige Baumwollfasern, wodurch unsere Nachtwäsche langlebiger wird.

JETZT SHOPPEN

Sie zelebrieren nachhaltigen Luxus und möchten auch beim Schlafen nicht auf exklusive Materialien verzichten? Wir legen Ihnen unsere Nachtwäsche aus Seide, Modal und Viskose wärmstens ans Herz. Ganz besonders ist auch die Modal-Seide-Mischung – wunderbar leicht, flexibel und atmungsaktiv und vor allem nachhaltig.

JETZT SHOPPEN


 

10 TIPPS FÜR EINEN GUTEN SCHLAF

 

Wissenschaftler in den USA erkannten bei einer Untersuchung, dass Probanden, die sich mit Socken ins Bett kuschelten, im Schnitt um etwa 15 Minuten schneller einschliefen als barfuß schlummernde Personen. Socken sorgen für erweiterte Blutgefäße, unsere Füße geben daher Wärme ab. In Folge dessen sinkt die Körpertemperatur, was dem Gehirn den Impuls liefert, den Schlaf einzuleiten.

Der Schlaf liebt die Regelmäßigkeit und ein verlässliches Timing. Da unser Körper wie jedes lebende Wesen Rhythmen und Zyklen folgt, macht es Sinn, diesem Instinkt nachzugeben und möglichst eine gleichbleibende Einschlaf- und Aufstehzeit zu etablieren.

Die Rückenlage empfiehlt sich vor allem für die orthopädische Regeneration. In der Seitenlage wird der Prozess der Gehirnentgiftung unterstützt. Abzuraten ist von der ebenfalls populären Bauchlage. Viele Probleme im unteren Rücken hängen mit dieser Schlafhaltung zusammen.


IHR GESCHENK



Wir schenken Ihnen ein exklusives Zirbenkissen* im Wert von € 29,- gefüllt mit duftenden Zirbenflocken zu jedem Einkauf ab € 150 aus unserer Nachtwäsche-Kollektion.

Der wohltuend-angenehme Duft des Holzes, dessen Späne zu Kissenfüllungen verarbeitet werden, wirkt nachweislich schlaffördernd.


Legen Sie bitte das Zirbenkissen mit in den Einkaufskorb. Der Preis wird im Check-Out abgezogen.



* Nur solange der Vorrat reicht, einmal pro Kunde und Bestellung.



JETZT GESCHENK SICHERN

Ein absoluter Schlaf-Killer ist beispielsweise die 'Digitalisierung des Schlafraums', denn die Nutzung von Computern oder Mobiltelefonen 'bis die Augen zufallen' ist inzwischen eher Regel statt Ausnahme. Dabei stören Strahlung und Blaulicht digitaler Geräte den Ein- und Durchschlafprozess nachweislich.

Der Schlafraum soll laut Experten so minimalistisch wie möglich gestaltet sein: ein komfortables Bett mit atmungsaktiver Matratze, ein kleiner Tisch, eine Lampe, absolute Dunkelheit, eine Temperatur von 16 bis 18 Grad und die perfekte Nachtwäsche lauten die Zutaten für die vollendete Schlafrezeptur.

Eine kurze Meditation, unterstützt von tiefen gleichmäßigen Atemzügen durch die Nase, lässt die Sinne zur Ruhe kommen und unterstützt das Loslassen von Gedanken.



Damit Verdauungsorgane über Nacht entgiften können, sind fettige Speisen, Koffein oder Alkohol bis zu drei Stunden vor dem Einschlafen im Idealfall tabu. Stattdessen lieber ein paar Nüsse knabbern.

Bewegung fördert den Schlaf: Ideal sind Aktivitäten unter freiem Himmel, denn wer genug Licht tankt, setzt am Abend schneller das natürliche Schlafmittel Melatonin frei.

Die richtige Nachtwäsche leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zu idealem Schlafkomfort. Hochwertige, natürliche Materialien sind angenehm auf der Haut und von Natur aus atmungsaktiv, so dass wir weder frieren noch schwitzen.

FEINSTE NACHTWÄSCHE





MAGAZIN ZUM THEMA SCHLAF



Wir widmen uns in unserem Magazin dem Schlaf etwas ausführlicher und ergründen, was es für eine gute Nachtruhe braucht.


Das Magazin ist in den HANRO Stores erhältlich.


ZUM SHOPFINDER

Viel Spaß beim Schmökern in unserem blätterbaren Magazin!