• SUSTAINABLE AT HEART 
    Discover our sustainable collections

  • free delivery! (from 50,- EUR)

  • Due to high demand, we are currently experiencing a 1-2 days delay in the shipping process.
    We kindly ask for your understanding.

BRA-GUIDE

BRA TYPES OVERVIEW

 

 

“I know from experience that women have very different preferences and requirements.”

 


FRAUKE NAGEL

is a designer and product developer in the underwear industry and has dedicated more than 20 years to the world of bras.



What makes a good bra?

A bra should support the natural shape of the breast without the wearer noticing it is there. In addition to an optimal fit, a good bra has to have high-quality, soft material, and excellent workmanship.



How do I know what type of bra suits me the best?

It depends on the material and shape. To find out which style fits and suits you best, you really need to try them on. We offer a wide variety of styles and materials to meet different requirements ensuring that every woman can find their favorite bra. Our bras made of natural materials like cotton are particularly popular because they are incredibly comfortable to wear.

 

AN OVERVIEW

 

 

 


SOFT BRAs


LIGHTWEIGHT, EVERYDAY BRA

 

Perfect for smaller cup sizes (A/B cups) and women who find underwire bras uncomfortable. Soft bras are comfortable and support the natural shape of the breast. Underbust elastic holds the breasts in place.


DISCOVER ALL SOFT BRAs

 

 

 


SPACER BRAs


 

BREATHABLE BRA WITH NATURAL COMFORT

 

For women who prefer a natural shape and light comfort. Spacer bras are lightweight and breathable. Thanks to their innovative material, they sit snugly against the skin to create a natural-looking décolleté.


DISCOVER ALL SPACER BRAs

 

 

 


UNDERWIRE BRAs


 

UNDERWIRE BRA THAT SHAPES AND LIFTS

 

Recommended for women with larger cup sizes (75D/34D+) and also supports smaller sizes. Underwire bras provide gentle hold and shape. The wire supports the breasts from below, creating an attractive, round shape. This relieves pressure from the straps, which is particularly advantageous for women with larger busts.


DISCOVER ALL UNDERWIRE BRAs

 

 

 


PADDED BRAs


LIGHT SUPPORT AND BARELY THERE BRA

 

Ideal for women with soft breast tissue who prefer a firmer hold. Padded bras are characterized by their pre-molded cups, which give the breast shape and offer more support.


DISCOVER ALL PADDED BRAs






BRA DEVELOPMENT

 
HANDMADE STEP BY STEP

There are many steps before a bra reaches the sales floor. The development of a new bra is complex and challenging. It takes a team with a lot of experience, intuition, and a clear direction. Bra developer Frauke Nagel uses the new 'Cotton Sensation' T-shirt bra to explain how a new bra is created, how long the development process takes, and the challenges that are involved. 

"There are no machines that can sew bras on their own. It takes experienced seamstresses, hand-sew every bra."


FRAUKE NAGEL

Bra Expert

HOW A NEW BRA IS CREATED

 


The sketch from design team is always the guide for the feel and texture of the bra. 


How does the creation process for a new bra work?


1. PROTOTYPE

It always depends on the style of the bra. A bra with a cup is special because you have to find the right cup for it. For the new “Cotton Sensation” bra, I visited all the European cup manufactures at the international fair in Paris and ordered some samples. Then, we were able to create samples and sew the cups into the bras to determine which matched best. These mock-ups are incomplete prototypes used to assess the fit of the shell which can only be done by trying it on.

2 . FITTING

Since our company is mostly made up of women, it is easy to fit in-house since we all are different shapes and sizes. The shell for the 'Cotton Sensation' T-Shirt bra impressed us from the beginning. It has a nice round shape and slightly shapes the breast without pushing it up. When the bra is tried on, we always put a T-shirt on over it to see how the figure is shaped and if there are any pinches or bulging. We loved the way the cup shaped the breast, but the overall cut was not ideal.  


Therefore, our supplier had to produce a new mold, which is time-consuming and expensive. The mold is cut out of aluminum under computer control and is the tool used to manufacture the bra shell.

3. GRADING

After we had a well-fitting prototype, we could start with the grading. Grading is the development of the different sizes, beyond the initial prototype. For every cup size a new mold must be made. In the following months, we developed size by size, tried them on, and changed them until the bra fit well in all sizes.


4. MORE FITTINGS AND SAMPLES

It is also important that we try on each size, e.g. the 75C, was not only tested by just one woman, but on several. Every woman is unique and, to ensure that the bra will fit as many as possible, we had to try the bra on many women when developing the fit. The bra samples are given to the women to wear and wash the bra for four weeks, after which they gave their personal feedback. The results are evaluated and incorporated into the product development.

 

BH-Entwicklungsdauer EN
BH-Entwicklungsdauer EN

 

The creation of a new bra takes 6 months to 2 years, depending on the complexity of the style and the material that is used. The most time-consuming part of the process is the development of the fit. Every woman and every bra is unique, so there is no one-size-fits-all solution.

 

 


Christiane Braun was vital for the success of the 'Cotton Sensation' bra: "Since padded bras shape the breast, it was important that it gave a natural appearance. After countless fittings with many women in different sizes the 'Cotton Sensation', bra was created. It creates a beautiful cleavage without pushing up the breasts."


How long does it take to turn the initial concept into the finished product?

It depends. Are we working with an existing cut and material that we have used before and it has proven itself, or are we starting with a new cut and new material?
The expectations of the fit has an impact on the production timeline. Considering this, one bra can take from six months up to two years from conception to the finished product.

How many steps go into making a bra?

It depends on the type of bra, how it is made, and how many materials it contains. Focusing on the 'Cotton Sensation' T-Shirt bra, there is the main material, our cotton, which has to be harvested, washed, spun, and knitted in our own textile production in Vorarlberg. Then it is dyed and finished before the sewing room can cut the fabric. The cut for the shell cover has to be molded. It is shaped under heat on special cones and tailored again. 


For the shell, polyurethane foam is laminated on both sides with polyester fabric, molded and cut to size. The elastic bands are spun, woven, dyed, and cut to size. Even the sewing itself contains multiple steps. The different types of stitches are all carried out with special machines that require skill and time. There are no machines that are able to sew a bra its own. Each bra is still sewn by hand by an experienced seamstress.

What are the challenges in creating a bra?

The biggest challenge is the fit. The bra should fit almost any woman; however, every woman is unique. Even women with the same bra size have different body types. Each woman is different, what seems comfortable for one may not be for another. To find what works for most people, it takes time and patience.

IN THE PRODUCTION


This 'Cotton Sensation' bra is sewn together by hand from 29 individual pieces. Only experienced seamstresses can do this. Some of our seamstresses in Hungary have been working in this industry for over 25 years and pass on their knowledge from generation to generation.

 

 

THE RESULT


"High quality bra for everyday."

 

The 'Cotton Sensation' padded bra fits perfectly, it is comfortable, and does not show under clothing, thus the name T-Shirt bra. For a perfect, smooth look, everyday.

Cotton is part of HANRO’s DNA and plays an important part of every collection. We have redesigned our padded “Cotton Sensation” bra and given it a new fit. It can be paired wonderfully with many briefs from our basic collection. As one of the few cotton padded bras on the market, this modern T-shirt bra is a must-have for every underwear drawer.

SHOP THE ENTIRE
COLLECTION

 

 


How many individual parts does a bra consist of before it is sewn together?

Each bra consists of numerous components. There are visible parts, e.g. the clasp, and other parts which are invisible and disappear into the bra, e.g. tapes to stabilize edges and seams. The number of pieces for each style depends on how complex the bra is. When it comes to the ‘Cotton Sensation’ T-Shirt bra, there are 29 single pieces consisting of two fabrics and 14 different additional materials.


Can you say something about the HANRO quality standards for bras?

To ensure that our customers enjoy their HANRO bras for a long time, every material is tested in the laboratory for color fastness, shrinkage etc. before it is used. In addition, we only use materials that are STANDARD 100 by OEKO-TEX® certified. Our wear tests ensure that the bras can withstand everyday use in private households. The quality controls in the sewing factories ensure that the standard we have developed is also implemented in production. If, however, a quality defect should occur, our quality manager will take appropriate measures.



„A strong and determined team is essential when creating these well-designed, high-quality everyday bras .“



ANETTE SCHEIBAL

Quality assurance HANRO 

 

 

THINGS TO KNOW


RECOMMENDATIONS


Five women from different walks of life and age groups talk about their favorite bra.
 

LEARN MORE


THE RIGHT SIZE


A properly sized bra is absoluty crucial for optimal and comfortable fit.
 

LEARN MORE


THE PERFECT FIT


With the perfect fit you should feel as if you are not even wearing a bra at all.
 

LEARN MORE


BRA CARE


With the right care and storage, you will definetly enjoy your bra for a long time.


LEARN MORE

 

 

HANRO BRA BROCHURE

 

This brochure is available in all HANRO stores. It contains valuable tips and suggestions for your next bra purchase. If you don't have a HANRO store near you, you can browse through the brochure online here.

BH-GUIDE

BH-MODELLE IM ÜBERBLICK

 

 

"Aus meiner Erfahrung als BH-Fitterin weiß ich, dass Frauen selbst bei gleichen Körpermaßen viele unterschiedliche Körperformen haben."

 


FRAUKE NAGEL

arbeitet als Designerin und Produktentwicklerin in der Wäscheindustrie und beschäftigt sich seit über 20 Jahren mit dem Thema BH.


Was macht einen BH zu einem Wohlfühl-BH?

Passt der BH zur individuellen Brustform, gibt er das Gefühl von Halt und Sicherheit. Neben einer guten Passform zeichnet sich ein Wohlfühl-BH durch hochwertige, hautfreundliche Materialien und eine entsprechende Verarbeitung aus.


Woher weiß ich, welches BH-Modell zu mir passt?

Es kommt auf den Schnitt und das Material an. Um herauszufinden, was Ihnen am besten passt und steht, kommen Sie um das Probieren nicht herum. Unser Sortiment bietet eine Auswahl an Modellen und Materialien, die auf verschiedene Bedürfnisse eingeht, so dass auch Sie Ihren Lieblings-BH finden können.

 

EINE ÜBERSICHT

 

 

 


SOFT BHs


WEICH UND ANSCHMIEGSAM

 

Perfekt für kleinere Cup-Größen (A-/B-Cups) und für Frauen, die Bügel als störend oder drückend empfinden. Soft BHs sind weich und anschmiegsam und unterstützen die Brust in ihrer natürlichen Form. Dabei sorgt der Unterbrustgummi für Halt.


ALLE SOFT BHs ENTDECKEN

 

 

 


SPACER BHs


 

ATMUNGSAKTIV UND NATÜRLICH

 

Für alle Frauen, die eine natürliche Brustform und ein ultraleichtes Tragegefühl bevorzugen. Spacer BHs sind besonders leicht und atmungsaktiv. Sie schmiegen sich dank des innovativen Materials der Brust an und zaubern ein natürliches Dekolleté.


ALLE SPACER BHs ENTDECKEN

 

 

 


BÜGEL BHs


 

FORMSCHÖN UND STÜTZEND

 

Empfehlenswert für Frauen, die eine stützende Wirkung mit optimalem Halt und Form wünschen. Der Bügel umrahmt die Brust und stützt von unten, dabei verleiht er ihr eine schöne runde Form und macht ein tolles Dekolleté.


ALLE BÜGEL BHs ENTDECKEN

 

 

 


SCHALEN BHs


VORGEFORMT UND STABILISIEREND

 

Besonders geeignet für Frauen mit weichem Brustgewebe, die einen festeren Halt bevorzugen. Schalen BHs zeichnen sich durch vorgeformte Schalen aus. Diese geben der Brust die Form vor und bieten einen guten Halt.


ALLE SCHALEN BHs ENTDECKEN

 




BH-ENTWICKLUNG

HANDMADE STEP BY STEP

Bis ein BH zum Verkauf im Laden hängt, ist es ein weiter Weg. Denn die Entwicklung eines neuen BHs ist komplex und herausfordernd. Es braucht ein Team mit viel Erfahrung, Fingerspitzengefühl und einem guten Gespür. BH-Entwicklerin Frauke Nagel erklärt anhand des neuen 'Cotton Sensation' T-Shirt BHs, wie ein neuer BH entsteht, wie lange die Entwicklung dauert und welche Herausforderungen es dabei gibt.

"Es gibt immer noch keine Maschinen, die BHs selbstständig nähen können. Es braucht erfahrene Näherinnen, jeder BH ist handgenäht."


FRAUKE NAGEL

BH-Expertin

SO ENTSTEHT EIN NEUER BH

 

Die Skizze des Designteams gilt als Vorlage für die Beschaffenheit und Anmutung des BHs.

Wie läuft die Entwicklung eines neuen BHs ab?


1. MOCK-UPS

Es kommt auf das BH Modell an. Ein BH mit Schale ist speziell, denn man muss dafür erstmal die richtige Schale finden. Für den neuen 'Cotton Sensation' BH habe ich auf der internationalen Messe in Paris alle europäischen Schalenhersteller besucht und nach Augenmaß einige Muster bestellt. Passend zu diesen Musterschalen haben wir Schnitte angefertigt und BHs nähen lassen. Das sind sogenannte Mock-Ups, also unvollständige Prototypen. Diese Testmuster dienen dazu, die Passform der Schale zu beurteilen und das geht nur durch’s Anprobieren.

2 . ANPROBEN

Da wir in der Firma überwiegend Frauen sind und fast alle Größen abdecken, können wir die Anproben unkompliziert im Haus machen. Die Schale für den 'Cotton Sensation' T-Shirt BH, hat uns von Anfang an begeistert: sie hat eine schöne runde Form und bringt die Brust nach vorne ohne zu puschen. Beim Anprobieren ziehen wir auch immer ein T-Shirt drüber, um zu sehen, wie der BH die Figur formt und ob sich etwas abzeichnet. Von der Form der Schale waren wir begeistert, aber der Schnitt des Cups war nicht optimal. Deshalb musste unser Lieferant eine neue Mouldform anfertigen, was aufwendig und teuer ist.

Die Mouldform wird computergesteuert aus Aluminium geschnitten und ist das Werkzeug zur Herstellung der BH Schale.

3. GRADIEREN

Nachdem wir einen gut passenden Prototyp hatten, konnte mit dem Gradieren begonnen werden. Gradieren ist die Entwicklung der verschiedenen Größen, denn mit unserem Prototyp hatten wir ja nur eine Größe. Für jede Cupgröße muss eine neue Mouldform angefertigt werden. In den folgenden Monaten haben wir Größe für Größe entwickelt und immer wieder anprobiert und geändert, so lange bis der BH in allen Größen gut gepasst hat.

4. WEITERE ANPROBEN UND TRAGEPROBEN

Wichtig ist auch, dass wir jede Größe, z. B. 75C, nicht nur an einer Frau anprobieren, sondern an mehreren. Denn jede Frau ist einzigartig und um sicherzustellen, dass der BH möglichst vielen Frauen passen wird, müssen wir bei der Passformentwicklung den BH an vielen Frauen anprobieren. Zudem werden auch Trageproben ausgegeben, d.h. dass die Frauen den BH vier Wochen lang tragen und waschen und eine persönliche Beurteilung abgeben. Die Ergebnisse dieser Trageproben werden ausgewertet und fließen in die Produktentwicklung mit ein.

 

BH-Entwicklungsdauer
BH-Entwicklungsdauer

 

Die Entwicklung eines neuen BHs dauert 6 Monate bis zu 2 Jahren, je nachdem wie komplex das Modell und das zu verarbeitende Material ist. Am zeitaufwändigsten ist die Passformentwicklung, denn Frauen lassen sich in kein mathematisches Raster pressen.

 

 

Christiane Braun war maßgeblich am Gelingen des BHs 'Cotton Sensation' beteiligt: "Da Schalen BHs auch immer formgebend sind, war es uns besonders wichtig, eine natürlich runde Formgebung zu erzielen. Nach unzähligen Fittings mit vielen Frauen in unterschiedlichen Größen, entstand der BH 'Cotton Sensation', der ein schönes Dekolleté macht ohne zu pushen."

Wie lange dauert es von der Idee bis zum fertigen BH?

Das kommt darauf an. Arbeiten wir mit einem Schnitt und einem Material, das wir kennen und das sich bewährt hat oder fangen wir mit einem neuen Schnitt und neuem Material an? Auch welche Ansprüche man an die Passform hat, bestimmt die Länge der Entwicklungszeit. Entsprechend kann man von mindestens sechs Monaten bis hin zu zwei Jahren rechnen, bis aus der Idee ein fertiger BH entsteht.

Wie viele Arbeitsschritte stecken in einem BH?

Das hängt davon ab, was es für ein BH ist, wie er verarbeitet ist und wie viele Materialien er enthält. Um beim 'Cotton Sensation' T-Shirt BH zu bleiben: da gibt es den Hauptstoff, unsere Baumwolle, die geerntet, gewaschen, gesponnen und anschließend in unserer hauseigenen Textilproduktion in Vorarlberg, Österreich, gestrickt, gefärbt und ausgerüstet wird, bevor die Näherei den Stoff zuschneiden kann. Der Zuschnitt für den Schalenüberzug muss gemouldet werden, d.h. er wird unter Hitze auf speziellen Kegeln verformt und nochmals zugeschnitten. Für die Schale wird Polyurethanschaum beidseitig

mit Polyesterstoff laminiert, verformt und zugeschnitten. Die elastischen Bänder werden gesponnen, gewebt, gefärbt, ausgerüstet und zugeschnitten. Auch das Nähen an sich enthält viele einzelne Schritte und verschiedene Sticharten, die an Spezialmaschinen und mit viel Geschick durchgeführt werden. Übrigens gibt es immer noch keine Maschinen, die BHs selbstständig nähen können. Es braucht erfahrene Näherinnen, jeder BH ist handgenäht.

Was ist die Herausforderung bei der Entwicklung eines neuen BHs?

Die größte Herausforderung ist die Passform. Denn der BH soll möglichst vielen Frauen passen, allerdings ist jede Frau einzigartig und selbst Frauen mit der gleichen BH-Größe können einen unterschiedlichen Körperbau haben. Auch das Empfinden jeder Frau ist individuell. Was für die eine bequem ist, ist für die andere kratzig. Um hier einen guten Mittelweg zu finden, braucht man Zeit und Geduld.

IN DER PRODUKTION


Der BH 'Cotton Sensation' wird aus 29 Einzelteilen von Hand zusammengenäht. Nur erfahrene Näherinnen können das vollbringen. Unsere Näherinnen in Ungarn sind teilweise seit 25 Jahren in diesem Bereich tätig und geben ihr Wissen von Generation zu Generation weiter.

 

 

DAS ERGEBNIS


"Ein Qualitätswunder für den Alltag."

 

Der Schalen-BH 'Cotton Sensation' aus Baumwolle sitzt perfekt, ist bequem und zeichnet sich unter der Kleidung nicht ab. Er wird daher auch als T-Shirt BH bezeichnet. Für den perfekten, cleanen Look im Alltag.

Baumwollwäsche ist Teil der HANRO DNA und ein wichtiger Bestandteil jeder Kollektion. Jetzt haben wir unseren gepolsterten 'Cotton Sensation' BH überarbeitet und ihm eine neue Passform gegeben. Er ist außerdem wunderbar zu kombinieren mit vielen Slips weiterer Basic Serien. Als einer der wenigen gepolsterten Baumwoll-BHs am Markt darf dieser moderne T-Shirt-BH daher in keiner Wäscheschublade fehlen.

KOMPLETTE SERIE
SHOPPEN

 

 

Aus wie vielen Einzelteilen besteht ein BH, bevor er zusammengenäht wird?

Jeder BH hat zahlreiche Zutaten. Es gibt Teile, die man sieht, wie z.B. den Verschluss und andere Teile, die im Produkt verschwinden und nicht sichtbar sind, z.B. Bänder zur Stabilisierung von Kanten und Nähten. Die Anzahl der Einzelteile hängt davon ab, wie aufwendig der BH gestaltet ist. Bei dem 'Cotton Sensation' T-Shirt BH sind 29 Einzelteile bestehend aus zwei Stoffen und 14 verschiedene Zubehörmaterialien verarbeitet.

Kannst du etwas zu den HANRO Qualitätsstandards bei BHs sagen?

Damit unsere Kunden lange Freude an ihren HANRO BHs haben, wird jedes Material im Labor auf Farbechtheit, Schrumpf etc. getestet, bevor es zum Einsatz kommt. Zudem verwenden wir nur Materialien, die STANDARD 100 by OEKO-TEX® zertifiziert sind. Unsere Trageproben stellen sicher, dass die BHs dem alltäglichen Gebrauch in privaten Haushalten standhalten. Die Qualitätskontrollen in den Nähbetrieben achten darauf, dass der von uns entwickelte Standard auch in der Produktion umgesetzt wird. Falls dennoch ein Qualitätsmangel auftreten sollte, kümmert sich unsere Qualitätsmanagerin um entsprechende Maßnahmen.


„Nur mit einem eingespielten Team und mit viel Ausdauer ist die Entwicklung eines formschönen, hochwertigen und alltagstauglichen BH möglich.“



ANETTE SCHEIBAL

Qualitätssicherung HANRO




WISSENSWERTES

KUNDENEMPFEHLUNGEN


Fünf Frauen unterschiedlichen Alters und Stils sprechen über ihren Lieblings-BH.

 

MEHR ERFAHREN

DIE RICHTIGE GRÖSSE


Die Wahl der richtigen BH-Größe ist entscheidend für eine gute Passform und ein angenehmes Tragegefühl.
 

MEHR ERFAHREN

DER PERFEKTE SITZ


Mit dem perfekten Sitz sollten Sie Ihren BH nicht spüren und fast vergessen, dass Sie überhaupt einen tragen.
 

MEHR ERFAHREN

BH-PFLEGE


Mit der richtigen Pflege und Aufbewahrung haben Sie lange Freude an Ihrem BH.
 


MEHR ERFAHREN

 

 

HANRO BH-BROSCHÜRE

 

Diese Broschüre ist in allen HANRO Shops erhältlich und enthält wertvolle Tipps und Anregungen für Ihren nächsten BH-Kauf. Sollten Sie keinen HANRO Shop in Ihrer Nähe haben, so können Sie hier die Broschüre online durchblättern.